Correlation or Causation? Sleep and Psychiatric Disorders

I commend www.montegraphia.com for discovering this article. It recapitulates the misdiagnosis of sleep disorders for psychiatric disorders. On the list includes ADHD, depression, schizophrenic, bipolar and post traumatic stress disorders: Correlation or Causation?

Two summers ago, I was involved in a similar study at Dr. Mary A.Carskadon’s lab assessing the comorbidity of sleep-disordered breathing and ADHD in children and how it affects learning and memory.

3 Responses

  1. Excellent article, which I hadn’t seen. On our DSPS mail list we decided long ago that sleep disorders cause depression and not the other way ’round 🙂

  2. Aaargh. I clicked on and read that whole article and found it very good, as I said above. Didn’t occur to me to save or copy it. Now it demands a subscription! Dang. 😦

  3. I didn’t realize that the article was limited access. Weird. I may be able to find it for you from our library system. See what I can do. While I do in part agree with your first comment, it is true that depression also causes the phase angle (difference between dim light melatonin onset and sleep onset) to change; whether it is delayed or advanced depends on the individual. That’s why sleep disorders are tricky to diagnose, as I am sure you are aware, because they are usually co-morbid with some other malaise.

Leave a Reply

