Why Go To Graduate School?

This afternoon, I was asked by a fellow faculty member to talk about graduate school. I decided to utilize his vagueness to my advantage: show that I’m not a nerd. After talking a few blah, blah, blahs about the doctoral degree which actually means you are a qualified problem solver (well, I  actually didn’t say that. I simply showed them a concept map illustrating that obtaining a degree in a particular field (e.g. neuroscience) also necessitates experience in other disciplines (teaching, writing, consulting, business, public health, psychology, medicine, and chemistry, to name a few)), I showed them the following video. It probably accentuated my nerdiness given that it is a music video to “Under Pressure” by David Bowie performed by graduate students of the science departments at Berkeley, but that makes me a cool nerd, right?

And if you’re extra nerdy, you can mimic my fellow scholarly friends who constantly debate about the best blue collar suburb in  Northern Rhode Island (Cranston vs. Warwick). The Warwickite uses this video as a rebuttal.

One Response

  1. I was planning on doing this too, but I catching up on lost time with Andrea won out in the end…

    I’m glad they got some good advice, though. Qualified problem solver indeed!

Leave a Reply

